Type Size
Friday, 13 January 2012

Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister to Open IPI World Congress

Annual Meeting Will Feature Stellar Lineup of Speakers 

Kamla Persad-Bissessar
, Trinidad and Tobago’s first female prime minister, will open this year's IPI World Congress, the International Press Institute (IPI) freemedia.atannounced today. Persad-Bissessar, a former attorney general, won a landslide victory in elections in May 2010, pledging to bring transparency and accountability to all areas of government.

IPI's World Congress 2012 - in Port of Spain from 23-26 June - is coming to the Caribbean for the first time. Members of the global press freedom organisation last convened in the Americas in 2000, in Boston.

Titled "Media in a Challenging World: A 360 Degree Perspective," the three-day IPI World Congress will examine the many challenges, concerns and opportunities facing the media in the Caribbean, Latin America, and across the world.

In addition, the Congress will feature a one-day seminar for reporters covering corruption, a press freedom photo exhibition, and a special awards evening honouring IPI's 2012 Free Media Pioneer and World Press Freedom Hero.

As always, the IPI World Congress will feature a stellar line-up of speakers from print, broadcast and online media, as well as renowned figures from the fields of politics, business and academia.

Confirmed moderators, speakers and panelists include:

  • Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
  • Geoffrey Robertson, human rights lawyer, academic, author and broadcaster
  • Jim Clancy, CNN International anchor and correspondent
  • Savea Sano Malifa, editor and publisher of the Samoa Observer
  • Sheila Coronel, Toni Stabile Professor of Professional Practice in Investigative Journalism at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism and founding director of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalists
  • Juanita Léon, founder and director of LaSillaVacia.com in Colombia
  • Jacqueline Charles, award winning Miami Herald reporter
  • George Brock, Professor and Head of Journalism at City University; former managing editor of The Times, UK
  • Marjorie Miller, Latin America and Caribbean Editor, Associated Press (AP)
  • Wesley Gibbings, President of the Association of Caribbean Media Workers (ACM)
  • Salim Amin, Chairman of A24 Media in Kenya
  • Canute James, Director of the University of the West Indies’ Caribbean Institute of Media and Communication (CARIMAC) and former Caribbean Correspondent for the Financial Times
  • John Yearwood, World Editor at the Miami Herald
  • Günther Mayr, science journalist, Austrian Broadcasting Corporation (ORF)
  • Andy Johnson, former CEO, Government Information Services (GIS), and former host of “Morning Edition,” TV6, Trinidad

Early Bird discount rates until 31 January:
Members: US$ 660
Non-Members: US$ 900
Accompanying Persons: US$ 300

Ways to Register

  • Give us a call and we will take care of your registration for you!
    Phone: + 431 512  90 11