Type Size

World Press Freedom Heroes

Symbols of courage in global journalism

In 2000, on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, IPI honoured 50 World Press Freedom Heroes at its World Congress in Boston. Two additional press freedom heroes – Hrant Dink of Turkey and Anna Politkovskaya of Russia – were selected by the IPI Executive Board and honoured posthumously in 2007 and 2006, respectively.

Two journalists – American reporter Marie Colvin and Japanese photojournalist Mika Yamamoto - were the posthumous recipients of IPI’s 2013 World Press Freedom Hero award for their bravery and professionalism while covering the ongoing conflict in Syria as well as other conflicts before.

Two-time Pulitzer Prize winning American author and foreign affairs columnist David S. Rohde was named 63rd World Press Freedom Hero in January 2012.

In September 2011, US journalist Daniel Pearl, and South African editor Raymond Louw were named World Press Freedom Heroes for 2011.

In February 2010, Lasantha Wickrematunge, late editor of the Sri Lankan daily, the Sunday Leader was posthumously named a World Press Freedom Hero by a five-member jury.

Lebanese journalist and television anchor May Chidiac was named 54th IPI Press Freedom Hero in March 2010.

Mexican journalist Lydia Cacho Ribeiro was the 55th World Press Freedom Hero, awarded in April 2010 for her reports on domestic violence, child prostitution, organized crime and political corruption, in which she drew attention to abuses suffered by women and children and the impunity often enjoyed by those responsible for the abuse.

In May 2010, IPI awarded the 56th award posthumously to South African editor Laurence Gandar.

In June 2010, Nedim Şener was declared a World Press Freedom Hero following the publication of his book on the murder of fellow Turkish journalist Hrant Dink.

In July 2010, Pap Saine of Gambia became the 58th World Press Freedom Hero.

In August 2010, Iranian investigative journalist and political dissident Akbar Ganji was named the 59th World Press Freedom Hero.

“The Heroes of the IPI demonstrate that in spite of every obstacle and every constraint the truth ultimately prevails and is made known. The spread of democracy is relentless. And that freedom is an eternal goal for men and women everywhere. The editors and publishers you honour today and on whose behalf I have the great honour to speak, have played an essential and inspiring role in helping the people of their countries and the world achieve that freedom.” - Katharine Graham, IPI World Congress and Celebration of the 50th Anniversary, Boston, 2000.

The 65 heroes are:

Marie Colvin (2013)

Mika Yamamoto (2013)

David Rohde, US (2012)

Daniel Pearl, US (2011)

Raymond Louw, South Africa (2011)

Yoani Sanchez, Cuba (2010)

Akbar Ganji, Iran (2010)

Pap Saine, Gambia (2010)

Nedim Sener,Turkey (2010)

Laurence Gandar, South Africa (2010)

Lydia Cacho Ribeiro, Mexico (2010)

May Chidiac, Lebanon (2010)

Lasantha Wickrematunge, Sri Lanka (2010)

Hrant Dink, Turkey (2007)

Anna Politkovskaya, Russia (2006)

Honoured in 2000:
Aslam Ali, Pakistan
Rudolf Augstein, Germany
Omar Belhouchet, Algeria
Kenneth Best, Liberia
Hubert Beuve-Méry, France
Jesus Blancornelas, Mexico
Gremah Boukar Koura, Niger
Jose Burgos Jr., Philippines
Guillermo Cano, Colombia
Juan Pablo Cardenas, Chile
Pedro Joaquin Chamorro, Nicaragua
Suk-Chae Choi, Korea
Julio De Mesquita Neto, Brazil      
Jiri Dienstbier
, Czech Republic            
Harold Evans
, United Kingdom
Antonio Fontan, Spain                   
Gao Yu
, China
Katharine Graham
, USA                 
Veronica Guerin, Ireland                 
Shiro Hara
, Japan
Amira Hass, Israel                           
Tara Singh Hayer
, Canada
Doan Viet Hoat, Vietnam
Abdi Ipekci, Turkey                         
Kemal Kurspahic
, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Daoud Kuttab, Palestinian Territories
Gwen Lister, Namibia
Mochtar Lubis, Indonesia
Kronid Lyubarsky, Russia
Savea Sano Malifa, Samoa
Veran Matic, Serbia
Adam Michnik, Poland
Fred M’membe, Zambia
Indro Montanelli, Italy
Nizar Nayyouf, Syria
Freedom Neruda, Cote d'Ivoire
Pius Njawe, Cameroon
German Ornes, Dominican Republic
Percy Qoboza, South Africa
Raul Rivero, Cuba
Nuno Rocha, Portugal
Faraj Sarkohi, Iran
Arun Shourie, India
Andre Sibomana, Rwanda
U Thaung, Burma
Jacobo Timerman, Argentina
Ricardo Uceda, Peru
Eleni Vlachou, Greece
C.E.L. Wickremesinghe, Sri Lanka
Jose Ruben Zamora, Guatemala.

60 IPI World Press Freedom Heroes were honoured at the IPI 2010 World Congress in Vienna. More information on the Award Ceremony available here.