World Press Freedom Heroes

World Press Freedom Heroes Award Ceremony in 2010IPI has honoured 67 individuals as World Press Freedom Heroes in recognition of their courage and resilience in fighting for press freedom.

In 2000, on the occasion of its 50th anniversary, IPI honoured 50 World Press Freedom Heroes at its World Congress in Boston. IPI posthumously honoured Turkish-Armenian editor Hrant Dink and Russian investigative reporter Anna Politkovskaya in 2006 and 2007, respectively.

In the run-up to the 2010 IPI World Congress, which marked IPI’s 60th year of defending press freedom worldwide, IPI named an additional Hero every month, bringing the list to 60, and honoured those Heroes at a special awards ceremony held at Vienna City Hall.

Learn more about IPI's World Press Freedom Heroes: the full list of Heroes, with individual biographies, is available Opens internal link in current windowhere.

Free Media Pioneer Award

Free Media Awards collageThis annual award was established in 1996 to honour media or organisations that have fought to ensure freer and more independent media in their country. The winners are:

Opens internal link in current windowList of Free Media Pioneer Award winners

Words of Feedom
Words of Freedom
Words of Freedom Book
Words of Freedom Book